Biografie

Otto Wyler 1887 - 1965

Raphael Wyler, der Vater von Otto Wyler, stammte aus einer jüdischen Familie aus Endingen, einem von zwei Dörfern in der Schweiz, in denen Juden nach dem Frieden von Münster (1648) leben durften, bis ihnen 1866 die Aufenthaltsfreiheit gewährt wurde. Seine Mutter , geborene Guggenheim, war eine Tochter einer angesehenen Familie aus St. Gallen. Zunächst besaß der Vater einen kleinen Laden in Mumpf, in dem beide Söhne geboren wurden, Eugen 1885 und Otto 1887. In den neunziger Jahren des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts zog die Familie nach Aarau in die Vordere Vorstadt 14. Auch hier die Eltern betrieb im Erdgeschoss ein Geschäft, in dem weiße Ware, Arbeitstücher und andere Textilien verkauft wurden, das am Sabbat geschlossen war.

Im Alter von 12 Jahren wurde bei Otto Wyler ein Gehirntumor diagnostiziert (1899). Ein junger deutscher Spezialist führte in Basel zwei erfolgreiche Operationen durch, die jedoch das "Rechenzentrum" in Ottos Gehirn zerstörten. Dies war der Grund (?), Warum er Maler wurde, da der Arzt einen Beruf "im Freien" empfahl (Gärtner, Förster, Dekorationsmaler).

Der Kunstlehrer der "Berufsschule", an der Otto nach den Operationen sein Studium fortsetzte, Herr Steimer, erkannte das zeichnerische Talent von Otto Wyler und empfahl seinen Eltern, ihren Sohn Maler werden zu lassen. Sein Talent wurde durch die Tatsache bestätigt, dass er im Alter von 18 Jahren in die Werkstatt von Fernand Cormon an der Ecole Nationale des Beaux Arts in Paris aufgenommen wurde.

Ein Jahr später (1906/1907) reiste Otto Wyler nach München, wo er mit Heinrich Knirr (ebenfalls Lehrer von Paul Klee) zusammenarbeitete. 1907/1908 war Otto Wyler erneut in Paris, diesmal in der Werkstatt von Jacques-Emilie Blanche. Dies war der Herbst der großen Cezanne-Ausstellung im Salon d'Autome, die einen großen Einfluss auf Otto Wyler hatte.

Im Sommer malte er hauptsächlich in der Schweiz - Jura und Engadin. Zusammen mit ehemaligen Schulkameraden gründete er die Sektion Aargau der GSMBA (Verband der Schweizer Maler, Bildhauer und Architekten).

1910 fragte Otto Wyler seinen ehemaligen Schulkameraden Walter Jaeger, ob seine Schwester für ihn als Vorbild für eine Madonna posieren würde. Dann war Betty Jaeger Studentin an der ETH in Zürich. Das große Madonna-Bild war im selben Jahr in der neuen Kunstgalerie in Zürich zu sehen. Eine positive Bewertung des Bildes durch Hans Trog wurde am 25. November 1910 in der Neuen Züricher Zeitung (NZZ) veröffentlicht.

Sein erster wichtiger Erfolg war 1991, als das Bild "The Guitar Player" vom Wallraf-Richartz-Museum in Köln gekauft wurde, nachdem es in einer internationalen Ausstellung der GSMBA gezeigt worden war.

In der Berliner Secession zeigte Otto Wyler Winterbilder aus dem Engadin und im Glaspalast in München das Bild Maienzugbild, das später in das Auditorium des Schulhauses in Zelgli gelangte, in deutschen Kinos als Diapräsentation ausgestellt und in einer Zeitung. Dadurch wurde das 1911 gemalte Maienzugbild viel bekannt. Der größte Erfolg des damals 26-jährigen Malers war die Verleihung einer zweiten Goldmedaille an eine Aare-Landschaft auf der 11. internationalen Kunstausstellung in München 1913.

Der Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkriegs schien das Leben von Otto Wyler nicht in gleichem Maße beeinflusst zu haben wie andere Künstler in Europa, für die der Krieg einen Wendepunkt in ihrem Leben und Werk darstellte. 1907 war er nicht zur Rekrutenschule einberufen worden, es genügte dem verantwortlichen Arzt, dass Otto Wyler kein Interesse daran hatte, in der Armee zu dienen. Dies wurde 1914 nicht geändert, und so hatte er genug Zeit zum Malen. Es war jedoch viel schwieriger, ins Ausland zu reisen, so dass die Berge, insbesondere im Engadin, häufiger zum Thema seiner Gemälde wurden.

Betty Jaeger hatte ihr Studium 1913 abgeschlossen und eine Stelle an der Bezirksschule in Menziken erhalten, wo sie Naturwissenschaften und Mathematik unterrichtete. Sie verlor ihren Job, als sie 1917 Otto heiratete.

Nach ihrer Heirat lebten Otto und Betty Wyler von 1917 bis 1924 in Ftan. Dort bekam Betty eine Stelle an der privaten Sekundarschule für Mädchen, die sie auch verlor, als sich herausstellte, dass sie schwanger war. In dieser Zeit wurden drei Kinder geboren (1918 Zimira / 1920 Beate / 1922 Oswald).

Die beiden großen Monte Forno-Bilder wurden 1917 gemalt. Eines der Bilder wurde im Sommer in Zürich in der großen GSMBA-Ausstellung gezeigt. Nach Rezension von Dr. Carl Weichard (Kunstkorrespondent der Zeitung in Bern) wurde in der Frankfurter Zeitung veröffentlicht: "Der Preis für Schweizer Landschaften muss an das schöne Bild" Monte Forno während des Tages "(Maloya) von Otto Wyler aus gehen Aarau. "

Später, in den Jahren 1921 und 1922, wurde dieses Bild in verschiedenen Museen in den USA ausgestellt, wie dem Brooklyn Institute of Art and Science, dem Art Institute of Chicago, dem City Art Museum St. Louis usw.

Im Januar 1922 veröffentlichte Erwin Poeschel, der die große Giacometti-Monographie verfasst hat, einen längeren Artikel über Otto Wyler, der mehrere Reproduktionen in den "Westermanns Monatszeitschriften" enthielt.

Anfang 1924 zog die Familie nach Aarau, wo das vierte Kind (Lotti) geboren wurde. In den Jahren zwischen 1925 und 1934 malte Otto Wyler oft in Südfrankreich und nahm 1931 und 1932 im Winter seine ganze Familie mit nach Sanary.

Otto Wyler malte während zweier längerer Aufenthalte in Marokko (1934/1935), wo ihm die Stadtverwaltung von Marrakesch eine Werkstatt zur Verfügung stellte. Später wurden diese Werke sehr erfolgreich in Aarau und Genf ausgestellt.

Der Zweite Weltkrieg machte Reisen ins Ausland unmöglich und Otto Wyler malte viel in Losone (Tessin). Nach dem Krieg reiste er weiter - nach Griechenland, Italien, Frankreich, Spanien und 1959 auch nach Israel.

Zu seinem 75. Geburtstag (1962) wurden 222 seiner Bilder in einer großen Ausstellung in der Kunstgalerie in Aargau ausgestellt. Diese Ausstellung war ein großer Erfolg.

6 Monate vor seinem Tod, im Spätsommer 1964, malte Otto Wyler auf Einladung der Gemeinde Zurzach die lokale Rheinlandschaft. Kurz darauf wurde diese Landschaft durch die Errichtung eines Wasserkraftwerks für immer verändert. In einem Interview äußerte sich der Maler skeptisch gegenüber diesem Opfer der Natur zugunsten der Technik. Er hatte die Landschaft als Maler gesehen und trauerte um den Verlust der alten Weiden, die zerstört wurden. Er fand es wertvoll, dass diese Landschaft zumindest auf dem Bild erhalten blieb, das heißt, er sah sein Gemälde definitiv als Dokumentation eines Staates, als Dienst für die Erinnerung an seine Heimat.

Otto Wyler malte bis zu seinem Tod - er starb 1965 im Alter von 78 Jahren. Sein letztes Bild ist ein "Wald im Winter".

Seit seinem Tod gab es mehrere Ausstellungen seiner Werke - unter anderem 1965 in der Galerie 6 in Aarau, 1987 im Rathaus der Stadt Aarau und 2013 in Israel, wo 40 Bilder im Ein Harod ausgestellt wurden Kunstmuseum.

SIEHE KUNSTWERKE

  (892, Stand 12.10.2020)

Kategorien

Biography

Otto Wyler 1887 - 1965

 

Raphael Wyler, the father of Otto Wyler, came from a Jewish family from Endingen, one of two villages in Switzerland where Jews were allowed to live after the peace of Münster (1648), until they were granted freedom of residence in 1866. His mother, née Guggenheim, was a daughter of a respectable family from St. Gallen. Initially, the father owned a small shop in Mumpf, where both sons were born, Eugen in 1885 and Otto in 1887. In the nineties of the nineteenth century, the family moved to Aarau, to the Vordere Vorstadt 14. Also here, the parents operated a shop on the ground floor selling white goods, work cloths and other textiles, which was closed on Sabbath.

 

In the age of 12, Otto Wyler was diagnosed of having a brain tumor (1899). A young German specialist performed two successful surgeries in Basel, which, however, destroyed the "computing center" in Otto's brain. This was the reason (?) why he became a painter, since the physician recommended a profession "outdoors" (gardener, forester, decorative painter).

 

The art teacher of the "vocational school" where Otto continued his studies after the surgeries, Mr. Steimer, saw the drawing talent of Otto Wyler und recommended his parents to let their son become a painter. His talent was confirmed by the fact that he has been accepted to the workshop of Fernand Cormon at the Ecole Nationale des Beaux Arts in Paris in the age of 18.

 

One year later (1906/1907), Otto Wyler traveled to Munich, where he worked with Heinrich Knirr (also a teacher of Paul Klee). In 1907 / 1908, Otto Wyler was again in Paris, this time in the workshop of Jacques-Emilie Blanche. This was the autumn of the big Cezanne exhibition in Salon d'Autome, which had a big impact on Otto Wyler.

 

In the summers, he mostly painted in Switzerland – Jura and Engadin. Together with former schoolmates, he founded the section Aargau of the GSMBA (association of Swiss painters, sculptors and architects).

 

In 1910, Otto Wyler asked his former schoolmate, Walter Jaeger, if his sister would pose for him as model for a Madonna. Then, Betty Jaeger was a student at the ETH in Zurich. The big Madonna picture could be seen in the new art gallery in Zurich in the same year. A positive review of the picture by Hans Trog was published in the Neue Züricher Zeitung (NZZ) on November 25th, 1910.

 

His first important success occurred in 1991, when the picture "The Guitar Player" was bought by the Wallraf-Richartz-Museum in Cologne after it had been displayed in an international exhibition involving the GSMBA.

 

In the Berlin Secession, Otto Wyler showed winter pictures from Engadin and in the Glaspalast in Munich he showed the picture Maienzugbild, which later made its way to the auditorium of the schoolhouse in Zelgli, was displayed in Germans cinemas as slide presentation and reproduced in a newspaper. Thereby, the Maienzugbild painted in 1911 gained much publicity. The biggest success for the then 26-year-old painter was the award of a second gold medal to an Aare landscape at the 11th international art exhibition in Munich in 1913.

 

The outbreak of the first world war did not seem to have affected the life of Otto Wyler to the same extent as other artists in Europe, for whom the war marked a turning point in their life and work. In 1907, he had not been called up for the recruit school, it was enough for the responsible physician that Otto Wyler was not interested in serving in the army. This was not changed in 1914, and thus he had enough time to paint. However, it was much more difficult to travel abroad, so that the mountains, especially in the Engadin, became the subject of his paintings more frequently.

 

Betty Jaeger had completed her studies in 1913 and got a position in the district school in Menziken, where she taught natural sciences and mathematics. She lost her job when she married Otto in 1917.

 

After their marriage, Otto and Betty Wyler lived in Ftan from 1917 to 1924. There, Betty got a position at the private secondary school for girls, which she also lost when it became obvious that she was pregnant. Three children were born during this period (1918 Zimira / 1920 Beate / 1922 Oswald).

 

The two big Monte Forno pictures were painted in 1917. One of the pictures was displayed in Zurich in the big GSMBA exhibition in the summer. Following review of Dr. Carl Weichard (art correspondent of the newspaper in Bern) was published in the Frankfurter Zeitung: "The award for Swiss landscapes has to go to the beautiful picture "Monte Forno during the day" (Maloya) of Otto Wyler from Aarau."

 

Later, in the years 1921 and 1922, this picture was displayed in different museums in the USA, such as the Brooklyn Institute of Art and Science, the Art Institute of Chicago, the City Art Museum St. Louis etc.

 

In January 1922, Erwin Poeschel, who has written the big Giacometti monograph, published a longer article about Otto Wyler containing several reproductions in the "Westermann´s monthly journals".

 

In the beginning of 1924, the family moved to Aarau, where the fourth child (Lotti) was born. In the years between 1925 – 1934, Otto Wyler often painted in Southern France, and in 1931 and 1932, he took his entire family with him to Sanary during the winter.

 

Otto Wyler painted during two longer stays in Morocco (1934 / 1935), where the municipal administration of Marrakesh placed a workshop at his disposal. Later, these works were displayed very successfully in Aarau und Geneva.

 

The second world war made travels abroad impossible and Otto Wyler painted much in Losone (Tessin). After the war, he continued to travel – to Greece, Italy, France, Spain and in 1959 also to Israel.

 

At his 75th birthday (1962), 222 of his pictures were displayed in a big exhibition in the art gallery in Aargau. This exhibition was a great success.

 

6 months before his death, in the late summer of 1964, Otto Wyler painted the local Rhine landscape at the invitation of the municipality of Zurzach. Shortly thereafter, this landscape was changed forever by the erection of a water hydroelectric power plant. In an interview, the painter expressed skepticism in regard to this sacrifice of nature in favor of technology. He had seen the landscape as painter and grieved for the loss of the old pastures which were destroyed. He thought it valuable that this landscape survived at least in the picture, this means, he definitely saw his painting as a documentation of a state, as service for the memory of his homeland.

 

Otto Wyler painted until his death – he died in 1965 in the age of 78. His last picture is a "Forest in winter".

 

There have been several exhibitions of his works since his death – amongst others, in 1965 in the gallery 6 in Aarau, in 1987 in the city hall of the city of Aarau and in 2013 in Israel, where 40 pictures were displayed in the Ein Harod Art Museum.